Buying a Gun


This can be an intimidating experience. The Department of Justice has very specific requirements that must be met. We will help you through the process to make it as simple as possible.

-Must be at least 21 years of age and a California resident

-Must complete the required background check

-Present Handgun Safety Certificate prior to purchase and perform a Safe Handling Demonstration. Click here for information on how to obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate. Click here for the requirements for the Safe Handling Demonstration.

-Wait 10 days once the background check is submitted (240 hour minimum).

*Note: CA law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one purchase per 30 day period from a dealer. Private Party Transfers are exempt from the the one handgun per month limit. Click here for more information on Private Party Transfers.

Step 1. Come shop! This is the fun part! There are many different styles, sizes, and functions in handguns. We encourage you to handle several to see which ones feel comfortable. We can also help direct you to particular models that would be a good fit for you based on your needs and wants, as well as your purpose for purchasing the firearm.

Step 2. Bring the required paperwork. This includes:

1.) Evidence of identity and age. A current, valid California Driver’s Licence or ID card that shows your current address (P.O. Box is not accepted). For military- a current military ID accompanied by permanent duty station orders in CA is acceptable.

2.) Proof of California residency. This can include any of the following:

-Utility bill (must be within the past 3 months). This can include anything that provides a direct service by physical connection (i.e. water, electricity, wired cable or telephone), or telemetric connection to a non-mobile, fixed antenna device (i.e. satellite TV).

OR

-Residential Lease- signed, dated, and notarized, specifying monthly sum you are agreeing to pay. The name and address must match your proof of identity.

OR

-Property Deed- must identify you as the title holder. Name and address must match your proof of identity.

OR

-Military permanent duty station orders indicating assignment in California.

OR

-Other- the Department of Justice will also accept certain government permits, licences, or registrations.

3.) Handgun Safety Certificate- if you do not have a HSC, you can obtain one from Empowered Firearms & Training by passing a 30 question test (must get 23 answers correct). The fee for the test and card is $25. The card is valid for 5 years. Military and police officers are exempt.

The purchaser must also pass a Safe Handling Demonstration with the firearm (or the same model of firearm) being purchased. This includes checking to see if the gun is empty, unlocking it, loading it with a dummy round, unloading it, and relocking it. This will be performed when the DROS is submitted.

Step 3: Make payment. This includes the cost of the gun, background check, dealer fees, and taxes.

Step 4: Complete DROS (Dealer Record of Sale)- this is the system used by the California Department of Justice to complete background checks and registration.

Step 5: Wait at least 240 hours. This is a state requirement. You will be provided the time and date that you will be allowed to pick up your gun. We are not allowed to release the gun prior to that time. Guns must be picked up prior to 30 days from submission of the DROS.

Must be at least 18 years of age.

Step 1: Bring required paperwork. This includes:
1.) Evidence of identity and age. A current, valid California Driver’s Licence or ID card that shows your current address (P.O. Box is not accepted). For military- a current military ID accompanied by permanent duty station orders in CA is acceptable.

Step 2: Make payment. This includes the cost of the gun, background check, dealer fees, and taxes.

Step 3: Complete DROS (Dealer Record of Sale)- this is the system used by the California Department of Justice to complete background checks and registration.

Step 4: Wait at least 240 hours. This is a state requirement. You will be provided the time and date that you will be allowed to pick up your gun. We are not allowed to release the gun prior to that time. Guns must be picked up prior to 30 days from submission of the DROS.

Coming Soon